The Chalk Man by C. J Tudor

It was only meant to be a game . . . 


None of us ever agreed on the exact beginning.


Was it when we started drawing the chalk figures, or when they started to appear on their own?


Was it the terrible accident?


Or when they found the first body?

In 1986 Eddie is a twelve year old boy. His friends consist of Fat Gav, Metal Mickey, Hoppo and Nicky (the only girl in the gang). They live in Anderbury and get up to the usual things that kids do.

It’s the summer holidays and during that time it’s Fat Gav’s birthday. He receives a bucket of chalk from an unknown person.

The group then decide to use the chalk to leave coded messages outside each other’s houses. The main aspect of these messages is a chalk man. Each member of the group has a certain colour of chalk so they know who’s left the message.

One day they all receive a chalk man message however when they meet up in the woods it turns out none of them sent the messages in the woods. They discover a series of messages left in the woods which leads them to a mutilated body.

Fast forward to 2016 Eddie is now a forty two year old English teacher and a loner, living with his lodger Chloe still in Anderbury.

The group still keep in touch but they are no longer close. They have all tried to forget the events of thirty years ago but for Eddie they are firmly locked into his mind.

One morning Eddie receives a letter containing one piece of chalk! Could this be a prank? Eddie think that until he finds out each member of the group has received a piece of chalk too. Another murder is committed and Eddie finds himself drawn into the past once more.

Secrets of all those years start to unfold but will the truth finally be found ?

The Chalk Man is set in two timelines and each timeline is perfectly paced, there are more twists and turns that keep you guessing constantly. C. J. Tudor takes her time building up this story, developing all the characters along the way. This makes for a book you don’t want to have to put down and which creeps into your head when you are away from it.

The references to various things from the eighties is clever and for anyone remembering such things as Woolworths and certain products it’s a trip down memory lane . Yes I remember those things as I am fifty three years young !

C. J. Tudor has a wonderful way of storytelling, suspense, creepiness and dark humour are among just a few of her skills. She hooks you in and always leaves you wanting more of the story, this happened many a time for me especially just before I was starting work which then had me racing home at lunchtime to get in a quick chapter fix before returning to work!

As for the ending it was well executed and I guessed the culprit about twenty pages from the end. However the final chapter whacked me straight in the face and I found myself shouting out “What!”

Believe me I was not expecting that! The final chapter has stayed with me for days now.

C. J. Tudor’s The Chalk Man is a debut novel. I must say I find it hard to believe she’s not put pen to paper before as the writing is amazing she fully deserves the praise and compliments that have come with this book.

Not for a long time has a book stayed with me as much as this one has. For fans of mystery, thrillers and creepiness this is a must have book.

I personally can not wait for her next book The Taking of Annie Thorne, which I’ve preordered for my kindle the current release date is 21st February 2019 I waited for the paperback copy of The Chalk Man I wanted the illustrated side pages version, leaving me no doubt I will purchase the paperback version of Annie Thorne to add to my collection when the time comes.

I foresee C. J. Tudor becoming one of my favourite authors in future years.

Below are some questions I asked a couple of friends who I know who had read it, which they gladly offered to answer so I could publish their thoughts

First up Colette

1. What were your thought of the opening scene of the book ?
The opening scene gripped me from the start and compelled me to keep reading.
2. What were your thoughts about the main character in Chalkman ?
The main character in Chalkman who was telling the story was intriguing and yet came across as a lonely person further into the story.
3. Did the book keep you gripped all the way through?
I generally find getting engrossed in a book difficult. However, this book kept me gripped all the way through right to the very end. It’s the first time in a long time that I couldn’t wait to read the next chapter!
4. Did it keep you guessing right till the end or had you figured out who had committed the murder?
The story kept me guessing until about 20 pages from the end when small hints/clues started to be revealed as to who had committed the murder, but then even at the very end the book revealed one final twist.
5. What were your thoughts about the ending ?
The ending of the book was excellent, partly what I had guessed but and partly a surprise (I don’t want to say too much and give the story away).
6. Was this book well written ?
I feel that the story was really well written, good descriptive writing that made it easy for the reader to become involved in the story and it personally took me on a trip back to my childhood in 1986 with what the author described.
7.  Would you read another book by this author?
I would definitely read another book by this author, especially if it is a horror or psychological thriller.
Thanks for that Colette.
Next up Vicki Brusby a colleague and friend who I bought the book for as part of her birthday present.
1. What were your thought of the opening scene of the book ?
The opening of the book had me hooked from the start. Gripping and made me want to read on.
2. What were your thoughts about the main character in Chalkman ?
I liked that the main character was clearly flawed and had secrets lurking. I found him interesting and I wanted to find out more about him.
3. Did the book keep you gripped all the way through?
It did! Especially as it kept flitting between past and present. Each chapter usually had a mini cliff-hanger to keep you gripped.
4. Did it keep you guessing right till the end or had you figured out who had committed the murder?
I hadn’t figured out the ending or about Chloe’s role in it all!
5. What were your thoughts about the ending ?
I liked the ending. Both the killer reveal and the secret that he had kept!
6. Was this book well written ?
Very well written, suspenseful and gripping.
7.  Would you read another book by this author?
Definitely!
Thanks for your thoughts too Vicki.
Below is a link to my daughters review too
This book got a well deserved 5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a comment